GROWING GREEN CITIES

The theme of Floriade Expo 2022 – “Growing Green Cities” – is designed to raise awareness of the importance of sustainability and the future challenges it will pose in urban environments. The Floriade Expo’s aims are modelled on the UN Sustainable Development Goals (or SDG for short), which correspond with the German sustainability strategy. There is a particular focus on these seven goals:
  • End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture. (SDG 02)
  • Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all. (SDG 06)
  • Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all. (SDG 07)
  • Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation. (SDG 09)
  • Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable. (SDG 11)
  • Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns. (SDG 12)
  • Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts. (SDG 13)
The world population has now reached more than seven billion people. More than 50 per cent of them live in cities and it is forecast that this figure will have risen to almost 70 per cent by 2050. Since urbanisation is continuing relentlessly, it’s vital to find ways to ensure cities remain healthy, liveable and attractive places to live. This is the only way in which sustainable growth can be guaranteed.
In this context, four subthemes have been developed for Floriade Expo 2022: Green, Food, Health and Energy. The national and international participants will present their individual challenges and solutions to at least one of these subthemes at the international horticultural exhibition.

DIE VIER UNTERTHEMEN DER FLORIADE EXPO 2022

X

GROWING GREEN CITIES

Das Thema der Floriade Expo 2022 „Growing Green Cities“ macht auf die Bedeutung von Nachhaltigkeit und deren Herausforderungen in Städten in der Zukunft aufmerksam. Die Ziele der Floriade sind angelehnt an die „Sustainable Development Goals“ (kurz: SDG) der UN, welche sich mit der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie decken. Ein besonderer Wert wird dabei auf diese sieben Ziele gelegt:
  • Beendigung von Hunger mit Hilfe von Ernährungssicherheit, einer besseren Ernährung sowie einer nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft. (SDG 02)
  • Bereitstellung und nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung von Wasser und Sanitär (SDG 06)
  • Zugang zu bezahlbarer, verlässlicher, nachhaltiger sowie moderner Energie. (SDG 07)
  • Aufbau einer widerstandsfähigen Infrastruktur mit einer integrativen und nachhaltigen Industrialisierung sowie Förderung von Innovationen. (SDG 09)
  • Gestaltung von inklusiven, sicheren, widerstandsfähigen und nachhaltigen Städten und Siedlungen. (SDG 11)
  • Sicherstellung von nachhaltigen Konsum- und Produktionsmustern. (SDG 12)
  • Umsetzung von Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und seinen Auswirkungen. (SDG 13)
Die Weltbevölkerung beläuft sich aktuell auf mehr als sieben Milliarden Menschen. Mehr als 50 % davon leben in Städten und für 2050 wird prognostiziert, dass dieser Anteil auf fast 70 % ansteigt. Da die Urbanisierung unaufhaltsam voranschreitet, ist es zwingend notwendig, Wege zu finden, um das Leben in der Stadt weiterhin lebenswert, gesundheitsfördernd und attraktiv gestalten zu können. Nur so kann ein nachhaltiges Wachstum gewährleistet werden.
In diesem Zusammenhang wurden für die Floriade Expo 2022 vier Unterthemen aufgestellt: Green, Food, Health und Energy. Die nationalen und internationalen Teilnehmer werden ihre individuellen Herausforderungen und Lösungsvorschläge zu mindestens einem Unterthema auf der Internationalen Gartenbauausstellung vorstellen.

DIE VIER UNTERTHEMEN DER FLORIADE EXPO 2022

X